wanderlust.

There is an INTENSE desire in me to travel. That is all I can think about. Its embarrassing how much time I have spent on Pinterest and travel blogs lately.

I want to see everything! Ah I just want to pack my backpack and leave. Go on an adventure.

It would be so cool to learn new languages because I spent enough time there to pick them up. Participating in another culture is so wonderful. I just want to immerse myself in the world and never look back.

What I have been really wanting to do lately is hike to Machu Picchu. That would be incredible! Spend 4 or 5 days hiking and camping with a guide, learning about their family and community, speaking in their native language. Plus, Machu Picchu is a breathtaking place even in pictures. To spend the day exploring there would be remarkable.

I also want to travel on the Nile River and backpack through South America and visit the castles of Ireland and participate in a tea ceremony in China and see the sun up at midnight in Alaska and see the Northern Lights in Iceland and eat my way through Europe and experience Northern Africa and learn Arabic in the Middle East and soak my feet in the Ganges River in India and stand on the beaches of South Africa and eat Nutella in Australia. And many other things.

“Traveling–it leaves you speechless and then turns you into a storyteller.” -Ibn Battuta

“If you’re 22, physically fit, hungry to learn and be better, I urge you to travel — as far and as wide as possible. Sleep on floors if you have to. Find out how other people eat and live and cook. Learn from them, wherever you go.” – Anthony Bourdain

“We travel not to escape life, but for life not to escape us.” – Anonymous

I haven’t been everywhere, but it’s on my list.” – Susan Sontag

with love,

j.

Leave a comment