i think i’m starting to get the hang of this…

okay so my entire attitude towards college completely changed yesterday.

So earlier this week, Sunday actually, I met with this awesome chick names Heather. I know her through a mutual friend. She hooked us up. I walked to the church where Heather works and we just hung out and talked. She asked me all kinds of questions about who I was and what I’m about. It was really cool because she was the first person who really seemed interested in me as a person.

Anyway.

She invited me to their college ministry deal on Tuesday night. Said it was really low key. Not a huge group. But no pressure to come.

I had been to a couple other campus ministries that week and thought, well I haven’t really found what I’m looking for, Heather is really cool, so yea. I’ll see you there on Tuesday.

So its Tuesday. My classes are over. I have been sick the last couple of days so I’m just hanging out in my dorm getting ready to do homework since this college deal doesn’t start until 8. I check my e-mail and my GEP teacher has sent us all a message about this club called 7Rs. Its a group of students who are wanting to raise awareness and help fuel the 7 major revolutions going on in our world. Examples being resources (i.e. clean water) and population (i.e. housing).

If you know me at all then you know this is kind of my thing. So I decide to go. It starts at 5 and ends around 6 so I can still make it to church.

So I go to this meeting and by the end of it I am pretty much signed up to be a chair of one of the committees for one of the 7R’s and I am staying late to talk with the president and faculty advisor about the ideas I have for the direction we could take the group and they are loving it. I am loving it. It’s love. Really.

So I go back to my dorm for a while to get my Bible and stuff to go to this church thing. I’m in a super good mood because I found something I really want to get involved in and I’m super pumped about it.

Okay so its like 7:30 and Im walking to FnC, where this college deal is, and I’m pretty excited to see what it’s like and to see Heather again. Well it takes like half the time I thought it would to get there and so I show up super early. But there are some people there helping set everything up. Heather sees me and says hello and introduces me to a bunch of people and literally from that point forward I did not feel like the new kid at all. I fit in so well with everyone there. I loved their personalities and style and how crazy in love they are with Jesus. The worship was awesome and they played Gungor, who is my favorite worship group.

But not only were the people great, but the discussion was intense.

We talked about Rob Bell and his theology and the way he delivers it and how we felt about it and if we agreed or disagreed. It was incredible. So many ideas and opinions flying around the room but not once did I get the feeling that anyone was offended or felt like they weren’t heard. I grew so much just in that one night.

and THEN,

I found a worship outlet! My first night and I’m already invited to get involved.

and THEN,

I just hung out with everyone. We joked and talked and got to know each other but it didn’t feel forced or anything. I really felt at home.

So, it’s safe to say that I think I have found a church and ministry to get involved with. I am super excited about it and cannot wait for next Tuesday!

I hope you all are feeling as blessed as I am today! God really is faithful.

I love you all!

-j.

One thought on “i think i’m starting to get the hang of this…

Leave a comment